Home / About NEASC-CPS


The NEASC Commission on Public Schools (NEASC-CPS), one of three commissions within NEASC, accredits and supports public elementary, middle, and high schools, and career and technical schools/centers throughout the six states of New England: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. With a structured, ongoing cycle of self-reflection, peer review, school improvement, and monitoring, NEASC-CPS assists schools to ensure that all students experience a high quality education.

Through the efforts of elected Commission members, professional and support staff, and thousands of educators and administrators who volunteer their time to serve as professional peer reviewers each year, more than 700 diverse public schools from across New England are NEASC Accredited or Candidates for Accreditation. The Commission is organized into two committees in order to offer specialized accreditation assistance to our member schools:

Committee on Public Elementary, Middle, and High Schools

The Committee on Public Elementary, Middle, and High Schools (CPEMHS), formed with approval of the Commission in the fall of 2019, is a merger of the Committee on Public Secondary Schools (CPSS) with the Committee on Public Elementary and Middle Schools (CPEMS). The committees were brought together to further reinforce the vertical alignment of the K-12 accreditation process designed to help schools and districts create a stronger Vision for Learning for a student's journey from kindergarten through graduation.

Staff contacts:
George Edwards, Director, NEASC Commission on Public Schools
gedwards@neasc.org, 781-425-7735

Alyson M. Geary, Deputy Director,  NEASC Commission on Public Schools
ageary@neasc.org, 781-425-7736

Learn more about CPEMHS

Committee on Technical and Career Institutions

The Committee on Technical and Career Institutions (CTCI), accredits comprehensive technical high schools and career centers throughout New England. Career and Technical Education (CTE) in New England is delivered through a variety of models, including but not limited to: comprehensive technical high schools, technical career centers, vocational and agricultural high schools, agricultural high schools, Job Corps Centers, and vocational aquaculture centers. CTE programs are STEAM based (science, technology, engineering, arts, math), are aligned with career pathways, involve on-the-job experiential learning, and combine rigorous academic and technical curriculums that lead students to earn stackable credentials, licensure, and hours toward state apprenticeships.

Staff contact:
Bruce Sievers, Associate Director, NEASC Commission on Public Schools
bsievers@neasc.org, 781-425-7716

Learn more about CTCI

NEASC Overview

The New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC) is an independent, voluntary, nonprofit membership organization which connects and serves over 1500 public, independent, and international schools in the US and worldwide. Founded in 1885, NEASC has been working to establish and maintain high standards for all levels of education longer than any other accreditation agency in the United States.