Home / About / Commission


The NEASC Commission on Public Schools (NEASC-CPS) is a panel of 40+ professionals selected to represent our diverse membership from across New England. Individuals on the Commission include school and central office administrators, teachers, and members from the public sector. Commission members are nominated by member school principals or may self-nominate. A nominating subcommittee brings nominations forward for vote by the entire Commission. Any openings on the Commission are made public and announced to the member schools.


Using the Standards for Accreditation, the NEASC-CPS Commissioners meet regularly throughout the year to review accreditation reports submitted by and about member schools, and provide commendations and recommendations specific to each school. This feedback serves as a roadmap for individualized and ongoing school growth and improvement for student learning. In addition, Commissioners determine the accreditation status of each member school.

Commissioners serve on one of the NEASC-CPS Committees which are divided in order to focus on the specific needs of:

  • elementary, middle, and high schools (NEASC-CPEMHS)
  • career and technical schools and centers (NEASC-CTCI)



Sharon Cournoyer
Chair, Commission on Public Schools
Superintendent, Regional District 19, Storrs, CT

William Lucci
Chair, Committee on Career and Technical Institutions
Assistant Director for Adult Education, Stafford Technical Career Center, VT

Committee on Public Elementary, Middle, and High Schools

The NEASC Committee on Elementary, Middle, and High Schools (NEASC-CPEMHS) is a subgroup of the Commission on Public Schools comprised of members drawn from across the six New England states. Formed in the fall of 2019 by merging the Committee on Public Secondary Schools (CPSS) with the Committee on Public Elementary and Middle Schools (CPEMS), the Commission had the goal of increasing the Committee's diversity by adding more teachers, school counselors, library media specialists, and other educational professionals as members. The category of Educational Partners (e.g., representatives of state departments of education, higher education, public members, and members of partner organizations) was also added.

Commissioners may serve a maximum of two consecutive three-year terms on CPEMHS. The chairperson is selected by the Committee for a two-year term.

Current Committee Members:


Christian Canfield
Science Dept. Chair, Newtown High School, Sandy Hook

Sharon Cournoyer
Chair, Commission on Public Schools
Superintendent, Regional District 19, Storrs, CT

Jade Gopie
Principal, Waterbury Career Academy High School, Waterbury

Anna Mahon
Principal, Amity Regional Senior High School, Woodbridge

Maria Christina (Tina) Rivera
Principal, Academy of Information Technology and Engineering, Stamford

Nicholas J. Spera
Executive Director, ISAAC Board of Directors, New London

Catherine Sosnowski
Retired Assistant Principal, Bristol

Daniel P. Sullivan
Superintendent, Putnam Public Schools, Putnam


Gretchen McNulty, Director of Learning 
Falmouth School Department


Amy Cetner
Principal, Bourne High School

Michael Crowley
Teacher of Engineering & Robotics, Norwood High School

Christopher Lord
Assistant Superintendent, Peabody School District

Bruce Pontbriand
Human Capital Coordinator, Accreditation, Boston Public Schools

Andrew Stephens
Principal, Lexington High School


Susan Bureau
Dean of Academics, Alvirne High School

Susan Schroeter
Principal, Unity Elementary School,

Brett Thompson
English Teacher, Merrimack Valley High School


Christopher Ashley
Principal, Tiverton High School

Lisa Leaheey
English Teacher, North Providence High School

Kevin McNamara
Assistant Superintendent, Lincoln Public Schools


John Broadley
Assistant Principal, Bellows Falls Union High School

Justin Campbell
Principal, Middlebury Union High School

Committee on Technical and Career Institutions

The NEASC Committee on Career and Technical Institutions (NEASC-CTCI) is a subgroup of the Commission on Public Schools. The Committee consists of faculty and senior administrators from member institutions, as well as representatives of the public who have worked outside education.

Commissioners are selected by the membership and may serve two three-year terms on CTCI. Public members may serve two two-year terms. Commissioners’ perspectives are informed by their own experience and knowledge of education. They are bound by explicit ethical standards to prevent conflict of interest.

Current Committee Members:


Patricia Feeney
Principal, Ella T. Grasso Southeastern Technical High School

Richard Shellman
Principal, Oliver Wolcott Technical High School


Robert Callahan
Director, Lewiston Regional Technical Center, Lewiston


Kelly Fay
Coordinator of Curriculum & Staff Development, Whittier Regional Vocational Technical High School

Justin Kratz
Principal, Charles H. McCann Technical High School

Kevin McCaskill
Executive Director, Madison Park Technical Vocational High School




William McCaffrey
Director of Secondary Education, Warwick Public Schools


Carolyn Dickinson
Assistant Director, Center for Technology, Essex, Essex Junction

William Lucci
Chair of the Committee
Assistant Director for Adult Education, Stafford Technical Career Center

Commission Actions

The Committees of the Commission on Public Schools meet several times a year to review reports by or about member schools, to make accreditation decisions, and to advise on Commission policies and processes.